top of page
Search

Keith’s First Reaction

Posted by Keith

Excited to finally be live with Under the Skin. It has been almost a year of effort to get off the ground. Turns out, producing your own podcast isn’t easy. There are a lot of things to consider, especially if you are starting a family at the same time. But, it certainly has been a great learning experience and we are excited to be here.


We have quite a bit to come and are looking forward to where this takes us and to where our listeners guide us. This has been a fascinating beginning for us and I’m starting to learn more than I thought about myself through this process. When we started, I was excited for the opportunity to share our thoughts and opinions (fitting for the times). Instead, I have realized there is a lot for me to learn and my thoughts are still being shaped as we dig deeper into perspectives we haven’t personally explored before. Some of the conversations have really opened my mind to the framework of thoughts we all have and how our differing backgrounds shape our current mindsets.


The most fascinating aspect has been learning about the different backgrounds of others, including Rodney, who I have known for years. Intellectually I certainly have come to understand everyone has a different path, of course. However, really unpacking the journeys others take and personalizing it has given me a new appreciation for our differences and the importance of not jumping to conclusions based on a current fact you have learned about someone.


The coolest aspect has been the impact this podcast has had on how I view every day situations. I consider myself an open-minded and accepting person, but through the podcast I realize how limited my mindset is. While I have experienced things, my experiences are greatly limited to time and there is so much more for me to learn about others. I had anticipated this impact would happen over time, but the extent to which it has occurred in just the beginnings excites me to what future conversations hold and how I can continue to grow from them.


I suppose, after all, this is the point of Under The Skin. Hoping that these conversations do just that for our listeners. Originally it was our goal to take our conversations and demonstrate peaceful discourse for others to learn from and replicate. However, that goal continues to grow and evolve as we learn more about others and the power that understanding can be to shaping our own mindsets.


You will hear me say thank you a lot, so I will at least acknowledge it here as I really appreciate your participation in this journey.  Thank you for listening, reading, and/or actively participating. We really don’t know what we are doing but hopefully we develop as we learn and glad you are along for the ride with us.

bottom of page